Friday, June 19, 2009

Ummmm....Hot

A little FYI on our weather today.......it is hot as hell....93 for a high with a heat advisory.....it will feel like 100 degrees.

The Wauz and I went for a run at 7 15 this morning, it was brutal. As much as everyone says that they love hot summer weather....I hate it! I would take a day of tee shirt and jeans in the 50-60's any day of the week. It just seem like I forget how hot humid weather feels until I go outside and realize that breathing takes more effort......like a ton more! Now I know people might be reading this post, thinking hey it would be nice to have some hot weather...personally I think you are nuts. Don't you remember what is felt like to step outside for like 30 secs only to realize that you started to sweat like 15 secs before....who likes to sweat, especially if you have a nice dress on and your hair looks nice...yuck! On top of it all.....there is the A/C issue. You step outside you sweat, you go inside you freeze.....not fun! I have to go to most restaurants and bars with a long sleeve shirt in my purse just to stay warm, who wants to freeze when it is 100 degrees outside.
With summer beginning on Sunday, all I can think is....summer weather is going to sticky and sweaty....however I should keep the parka ready for a trip inside.

Friday, June 12, 2009

Ughhh!

I know it has been a while, you can thank 4 days a week of school + one day of work on the weekends + studying hours!!!

Needless to say, we are busy, busy bees. Blair has been doing his study thang.....he talks about it each night....I heart my little nerd!! According to his last head count, he has over 60% of his subjects finished which totals 6 people...got to love pilot work. He has been working like a dog......up early to school and weekend tests. To count balance his lack of income, he will be starting to teach (again) next week! He is teaching a lab for the summer, which is great for the old checkbook. At the current moment, he is lending a helping hand to a fellow student....always a great guy.

I am almost done with my first summer class (2 weeks a counting)....that leaves me with 1/2 the program to complete...yeah!!! I think I can maybe see, a slight, little...who am I kidding...I can see no light at the end of the tunnel....chat with me in about 3 months. I can feel the bottom of my feet getting warm to the fire of burnout, but I will solider on! After a wonderful 4 day rest break (NOT!), I begin the always interesting peds and OB rotation. I am intrigued by the OB and a little worried about the peds side of the game. I am good with kids, but sick kids make me want to cry....that is not so good to have a crying nurse working on one's child....might make people a little nervous. The OB is interesting due to the idea that I will be there for the birth of someone else's child....if you think about it OB might be the one of the greatest places to work. Joy is something that can be attached to the OB floor....who does not love having babies, however we are talking about pregnancy.....different ball game. At the same time, OB allows a person to experience one of nature's greatest gifts.....a truly good reason for a woman to scream at a man (only kidding!)

Wauzee has been freaking out lately......storm after storm after storm will put a hole in little Wauzee stomach (or ours seeing has how many of these storms are rolling through at night). Otherwise, my little cupcake has been on his best behavior lately!

Well, I am off to get some work done prior to the start of game 7.....go Pens!